Our publishers

Bon Jour! Michaela Klevisová’s THE MONTMARTRE CAT is coming

Motto Publishing is releasing Michaela Klevisová’s new feline stories. The Montmartre Cat continues the story of the hit book Waiting for the Cat, which was also published by Motto last year. The Montmartre Cat (Kocour z Montmartru in Czech) is the writer’s most personal work to date. Michaela Klevisová beautifully captures the relationship between cats and people, emphasizing the idea of letting your heart take the lead, and that “to be” is often far better than “to have.”

I decided to write about cats, because I have a feline soul. My cats inspire me and I hope that the readers will be impressed by my stories, for I believe, that a good book is like a bank full of emotions – the writer deposits them on one side, and the reader withdraws them on the other. I strive to make my books that way,“ Michaela Klevisová explained. This love for cats is the thread that runs through the different stories of The Montmartre Cat; otherwise, they are full of ordinary human worries, troubles, and desires. The author sets her stories not only in Czech lands but also in other European cities. A trip to Paris inspired the story that gives the book its title; “Coco Chanel” takes place in Saint Tropez; Berlin sets the scene for “Checkpoint Charlie”; and the island of Ameland, the author’s favorite place, appears in “Across a Black Cat’s Path,” a story inspired by a real event.

The author admits that she too might be tempted to buy a convertible instead of renovating her bathroom, just like Veronika in her story “Once in a Lifetime”; that just like Stella in “Another League,” she also brings home every animal she finds in-need; and she wouldn’t hesitate for a minute to spend all of her savings on a sick cat, like Else from “Checkpoint Charlie.”

For her debut, The Steps of a Murderer, and her detective novel, The Lonely House, Klevisová won the Jiří Marek prize in 2008 and 2012.


Our books
01.02. | 2017
Little Stories for Little Readers Katarína Macurová
Cute characters, gentle storytelling with simple plots and humorous outcomes – you’ll find all this and more in these original books by acclaimed illustrator Katarína Macurová.
In the series:
Teaching Eddie To Fly
Why Won´t You Flower?
Which Is the ...
31.01. | 2017
My Animals Charming portraits of animals in natural poses that highlight their  characteristics. Two board books brings back the beautiful illustrations of the most acclaimed Czech illustrator of books about nature, Mirko Hanák (1921 – 1971), which originally came out in 1966 – 1971. In the following decade...
30.01. | 2017
The Little Girl and the Rain Milena Lukešová, ill. Jan Kudláček
From the series Poetic Vintage Tales
In the series:
The Little Girl and the Rain
The Stork
James and the Indian Summer
The White Winter
Little Joseph and Fish
The Little Girl and the Rain
Mood story about the...

Copyright (c) 2017 Albatros Media a.s. - All rights reserved